Committees

Awards of Excellence

Hillary Lyon
David Thal

Chair: Hillary Lyon, Art EverySpace, 415-827-6269, hlyondesign@gmail.com 
Vice Chair: David Thal, Weber Murphy Fox, 216-452-1208, dthal@wmf-inc.com

One (1) Program: The Awards of Excellence is a springtime event (May) awarding outstanding achievements in our industry for the previous calendar year. Responsibilities include site selection, preparation and distribution of the invitation, organization of the event, encouragement of coverage by the print media and attendance by members and non-members, as well as other actions required in putting on the program.

Charities

Nathan Wynveen
Preston Hoge
Chris Westbrook

Chair: Nathan Wynveen, TurnDev, 440-666-1126, nbw@turndev.com
Vice Chair: Preston Hoge, Bellwether Enterprise Real Estate Capital, 216-870-4516, phoge@bwcap.com
Vice Chair: Chris Westbrook, Langan Engineering and Environmental Services, 216-328-3311, cwestbrook@langan.com 

Plans events, including the Annual Charity Golf Outing and the Annual Clay Shoot, dedicated to fundraising for NAIOP Charities. Works closely with the Board of Trustees to determine how proceeds from charitable events will be distributed. This committee has developed a set of guidelines, which has been approved by the Board that they use to formulate a plan for distribution of Charities monies. NAIOP Charities Inc. provides funds for charitable causes such as student scholarships in the real estate industry, summer camp for children battling the challenges of cancer, housing for special needs, etc.

Communications

Tom Charek

Chair: Tom Charek, Welty Development, 330-867-2400, TCharek@thinkwelty.com

Strategic committee serving as liaison between NAIOP Northern Ohio and the Editorial Boards of various publications and media outlets. Actively promotes local NAIOP events and activities through social networks.

Corporate Underwriting

Kara Falkowski

Chair: Kara Falkowski, PNC Real Estate, 216-222-6027, kara.falkowski@pnc.com

Determines those entities to be approached as potential Gavel Sponsors. The Gavel Program is a program in which organizations supportive of our industry provide annual financial contributions. In exchange, their involvement is well publicized by NAIOP, exposure is provided through a local real estate publication, and “comp” tickets to events are available. Identification of candidates for corporate underwriting, as well as the request for involvement and subsequent follow-up, are this group’s responsibility.

Developing Leaders

Ryan Schmitt
Brian Bruening

Chair: Ryan Schmitt, First National Bank, 216-331-1904, schmittr@fnb-corp.com
Vice Chair: Brian Bruening, Bellwether Enterprise, 216-820-4601, bbruening@bwecap.com

Identifies and executes collaborative opportunities with other Young Professional organizations to promote networking and the coordinates with Membership Committee on recruiting the same. Identifies other opportunities for DL members to meet, collaborate and network together as a group. Chapter which may include a tie in with existing Mixer Events. Identifies prospective Developing Leader (DL) candidates.

Education/Programs

Angel Rice
Justin Eddy

Chair: Angel Rice, Cohen & Company, 216-774-1140, arice@cohencpa.com
Vice Chair: Justin Eddy, Tucker Ellis LLP, 216-696-5676, justin.eddy@tuckerellis.com

Helps to determine yearly events and coordinates the programs and aids in processing the continuing education credits. Programs include the quarterly developer’s roundtable, speaker series, yearly real estate continuing education program, and several other events. A typical calendar year has approximately 10 events.

Government Affairs, Public Relations, NAIOP of Ohio

Mike Sikora
Bret McNab
Rob Weeks

Chair: Michael J. Sikora III, Sikora Law LLC/OMNI Title LLC, 440-266-7777, msikora@sikoralaw.com
Vice Chair: Bret McNab, Meyers, Roman, Friedberg & Lewis, 440-266-7777, bmcnab@meyersroman.com
State Historic Tax Credits Task Force Chair: Rob Weeks, R-Weeks Consulting, 216-407-1062, robert.weeks.ka@gmail.com

Determines legislative priorities of interest to the local chapter and any activities to be undertaken. Has input into NAIOP of Ohio and NAIOP National organizations regarding legislative and regulatory issues at federal and state level.

Membership

Charlie Filisko
Rob Weeks

Chair: Charlie Filisko, Marsh & McLennan Agency, 216-393-1822, charlie.filisko@marshmma.com
Vice Chair: Rob Weeks, R-Weeks Consulting, 216-407-1062, robert.weeks.ka@gmail.com

Identifies prospective candidates for membership and facilitates recruitment efforts. Prepares and carries out membership campaign. Communicate with National NAIOP Membership representatives and Chapter management firm to assure roster accuracy. Promotes membership retention through member communications and regular mixer events to promote networking and the value of being a member.

Strategic Initiatives

Amy Whitacre
Erin Ryan

Chair: Amy Whitacre, First American National Commercial Services, 216-802-3528, awhitacre@firstam.com
Vice Chair: Erin Ryan, Rycon Construction, 216-407-7009, eryan@ryconinc.com

Responsible for identification of other program, event and participation opportunities for the chapter. Coordinates with the President and other committee Chairs as appropriate to develop and execute new opportunities approved by the Board.

Student Engagement

Dave Robar
Don Obermeier
Craig Miller

Co-Chair: Dave Robar, vocon, 216-588-0800, dave.robar@vocon.com
Co-Chair: Don Obermeier, CESO, 330-396-5150, obermeier@cesoinc.com
Chair: Craig Miller, Duffy + Duffy Cost Segregation, 440-892-3339, craig@costsegexperts.com

Liaison with Local colleges and universities, and ACE Mentor Cleveland, an organization helping mentor high-school students and inspires them to pursue careers in design and construction.

Women’s Leadership Network

Erin Blaskovic
Shannon Thorsen
Shannon Thorsen

Chair: Erin Blaskovic, DLR Group | Westlake Reed Leskosky, 216-623-7833, eblaskovic@dlrgroup.com
Vice Chair: Shannon Thorsen, Karpinski Engineering, 216-391-3700 x1128, sthorsen@karpinskieng.com

The WLN was formed to help facilitate career growth, personal development, and professional networking with female peers across the Northern Ohio region.  WLN events will focus on meaningful discussions with influential women in CRE and female owned businesses in Northern Ohio.