Committees

Awards of Excellence

Erin Ryan
Hillary Lyon

Chair: Erin Ryan, Intertek/PSI, 216-407-7009, erin.ryan@psiusa.com
Vice Chair: Hillary Lyon, Art EverySpace, 415-827-6269, hlyondesign@gmail.com 

One (1) Program: The Awards of Excellence is a springtime event (May) awarding outstanding achievements in our industry for the previous calendar year. Responsibilities include site selection, preparation and distribution of the invitation, organization of the event, encouragement of coverage by the print media and attendance by members and non-members, as well as other actions required in putting on the program.

Charity Golf

Chris Westbrook
Philip Pirro

Chair: Chris Westbrook, Langan, 216-328-3311, cwestbrook@langan.com 
Vice Chair: Phil Pirro, Cleveland Clinic Foundation, 216-317-6883, pirrop@ccf.org

Annual summer golf outing. The committee selects the site, creates the invitation, encourages attendance, coordinates and organizes the event and the gathering thereafter.

Communications

Hillary Lyon
Erin Blaskovic

Chair: Hillary Lyon, Art EverySpace, 415-827-6269, hlyondesign@gmail.com 
Vice Chair: Erin Blaskovic, Cleveland Construction, 440-255-8000 x149, eblaskovic@ clevelandconstruction.com

Strategic committee serving as liaison between NAIOP Northern Ohio and the Editorial Boards of various publications and media outlets. Actively promotes local NAIOP events and activities through social networks.

Corporate Underwriting

Kara Falkowski

Chair: Kara Falkowski, PNC Real Estate, 216-222-6027, kara.falkowski@pnc.com

Determines those entities to be approached as potential Gavel Sponsors. The Gavel Program is a program in which organizations supportive of our industry provide annual financial contributions. In exchange, their involvement is well publicized by NAIOP, exposure is provided through a local real estate publication, and “comp” tickets to events are available. Identification of candidates for corporate underwriting, as well as the request for involvement and subsequent follow-up, are this group’s responsibility.

Developing Leaders

Justin Eddy

Chair: Justin Eddy, Tucker Ellis LLP, 216-696-5676, justin.eddy@tuckerellis.com
Vice Chair: Ryan Schmitt, First National Bank, 216-331-1904, schmittr@fnb-corp.com

Identifies and executes collaborative opportunities with other Young Professional organizations to promote networking and the coordinates with Membership Committee on recruiting the same. Identifies other opportunities for DL members to meet, collaborate and network together as a group. Chapter which may include a tie in with existing Mixer Events. Identifies prospective Developing Leader (DL) candidates.

Education/Programs

Angel Rice

Chair: Angel Rice, Cohen & Company, 216-774-1140, arice@cohencpa.com

Helps to determine yearly events and coordinates the programs and aids in processing the continuing education credits. Programs include the quarterly developer’s roundtable, speaker series, yearly real estate continuing education program, and several other events. A typical calendar year has approximately 10 events.

Giving

Nathan Wynveen
Preston Hoge

Chair: Nathan Wynveen, Hemingway Development, 440-666-1126, nwynveen@hwrep.com
Vice Chair: Preston Hoge, Bellwether Enterprise Real Estate Capital, 216-870-4516, phoge@bwcap.com

Works closely with the Board of Trustees to determine how proceeds from the Annual Charity Golf Outing will be distributed. This committee has developed a set of guidelines, which has been approved by the Board that they use to formulate a plan for distribution of Charities monies. NAIOP Charities Inc. provides funds for charitable causes such as student scholarships in the real estate industry, summer camp for children battling the challenges of cancer, housing for special needs, etc.

Government Affairs, Public Relations, NAIOP of Ohio

Mike Sikora
Bret McNab
Rob Weeks

Chair: Michael J. Sikora III, Sikora Law LLC/OMNI Title LLC, 440-266-7777, msikora@sikoralaw.com
Vice Chair: Bret McNab, Roetzel, 330-762-7775, bmcnab@ralaw.com
Vice Chair: Kieran Jennings, Siegel Jennings, 216-763-1004, kjennings@siegeltax.com
State Historic Tax Credits Task Force Chair: Rob Weeks, R-Weeks Consulting, 216-407-1062, robert.weeks.ka@gmail.com

Determines legislative priorities of interest to the local chapter and any activities to be undertaken. Has input into NAIOP of Ohio and NAIOP National organizations regarding legislative and regulatory issues at federal and state level.

Membership

Charlie Filisko
Amber Koriath

Chair: Charlie Filisko, Marsh & McLennan Agency, 216-393-1822, charlie.filisko@marshmma.com
Vice Chair: Amber Koriath, Greater Cleveland Partnership, 216-592-2302, akoriath@gcpartnership.com

Identifies prospective candidates for membership and facilitates recruitment efforts. Prepares and carries out membership campaign. Communicate with National NAIOP Membership representatives and Chapter management firm to assure roster accuracy. Promotes membership retention through member communications and regular mixer events to promote networking and the value of being a member.

Strategic Initiatives

Amy Whitacre
Vince Adamus

Chair: Amy Whitacre, First American National Commercial Services, 216-802-3528, awhitacre@firstam.com
Vice Chair: Vince Adamus, Greater Cleveland Partnership, 216-592-2258, vadamus@gcpartnership.com

Responsible for identification of other program, event and participation opportunities for the chapter. Coordinates with the President and other committee Chairs as appropriate to develop and execute new opportunities approved by the Board.

Project REAP / ACE Mentor Cleveland

Dave Robar
Don Obermeier

Chair: Dave Robar, vocon, 216-588-0800, dave.robar@vocon.com
Vice Chair: Don Obermeier, CESO, 330-396-5150, obermeier@cesoinc.com

Liaison with Project REAP, an industry-backed, market-driven program that serves as a bridge between talented minority professionals and commercial real estate companies looking for talent.Liaison with ACE Mentor Cleveland, an organization helping mentor high-school students and inspires them to pursue careers in design and construction.

Women’s Leadership Network

Amber Koriath
Erin Blaskovic
Shannon Thorsen
Shannon Thorsen

Chair: Amber Koriath, Greater Cleveland Partnership, 216-592-2302, akoriath@gcpartnership.com
Vice Chair: Erin Blaskovic, Cleveland Construction, 440-255-8000 x149, eblaskovic@ clevelandconstruction.com
Vice Chair: Shannon Thorsen, HBM Architects, 216-241-1100, sthorsen@hbmarchitects.com

The WLN was formed to help facilitate career growth, personal development, and professional networking with female peers across the Northern Ohio region.  WLN events will focus on meaningful discussions with influential women in CRE and female owned businesses in Northern Ohio.

University Outreach

Craig Miller

Chair: Craig Miller, Duffy + Duffy Cost Segregation, 440-892-3339, craig@costsegexperts.com

Liaison with local educational institutions.